Faculty Members

The Institute is the largest and most dynamic center for the History of Science and the Social Studies of Knowledge in the country and one of the most active in the world. Our faculty members consistently win competitive scholarships and grants, publish in top-ranking  journals and are known for their innovative research.

 


 

 

Faculty Members

Prof. Amos Morris-Reich

History of photography; History of biologically oriented human sciences; History of antisemitism and scientific racism (PhD: Hebrew University, 2004)

morrisreich@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Leo Corry

History and Philosophy of Modern Mathematics (PhD: Tel-Aviv University, 1990)

corry@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Shaul Katzir

Modern Physics, Technology and Society (PhD: Tel Aviv University 2003)

skatzir@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Yossef Schwartz

Medieval and Early Modern Intellectual History (PhD: Hebrew University, 1996)

yschwart@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Ahmad Igbaria

Islamic Philosophy and Science (PhD: Haifa University, 2010)

Dr. Ori Belkind

Philosophy of Science; Phlosophy of Physics; Early Modern Thought (PhD: University of Washington, 2004)

obelkind@tauex.tau.ac.il​ 

Dr. Snait Gissis 

Interactions between sociological and biological thinking (18th to 20th century), The Enlightenment, Race and Racism, Sociology of Science (PhD: Tel-Aviv University, 1997)

gissis@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Lin Chalozin-Dovrat 

History and Philosophy of the Language Sciences, Critical Theory (PhD: Paris-Sorbonne (Paris IV) & Tel Aviv University, 2015)

lin1chd@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Ido Yavetz

History of Technology; History of Modern Physics; Ancient Astronomy (PhD: Tel-Aviv University, 1989)

yavetz@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

Dr. Ehud Lamm

Philosophy of Science, History and Philosophy of Biology, The Theory of Evolution (PhD: Tel Aviv University, 2010)

ehudlamm@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Michael Friedman

היסטוריה ופילוסופיה של המתמטיקה, פילוסופיה קונטיננטלית במאה ה-20 וה-21 (דוקטורט אוניברסיטת בר אילן 2011).

friedmanm@tauex.tau.ac.il

Dr. Eshbal Ratzon

 

eshbal@gmail.com

Dr. Shira Shmuely

 

shirashmuely@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Matteo Valleriani

Professor by Special Appointment, Senior Researcher Max Planck Institute for the History of Science and Honorary Professor in History of Science at the Technische Universität in Berlin

valleriani@mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de

 

 

 


 

 

Emeriti

Prof. Sabetai Unguru

History of Ancient Mathematics; Medieval Science

Prof. Adi Ophir

Continental Philosophy and Political Theory · (PhD: Boston University, 1984)

adiophir@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

 

Prof. Zev Bechler 

Philosophy of Science

 

Prof. Itzhak Ben-Israel

Philosophy of Physics (PhD: Tel-Aviv University, 1988)

itzik@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. José Brunner

Modern Political Theory; Psychoanalysis and Politics (PhD: Oxford University, 1987)

joseb@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Eva Jablonka 

History and Philosophy of Biology and the Theory of Evolution (PhD: Hebrew University, 1988)

Prof. Menachem Fisch

Rationality Theory; History of Early Victorian Science (PhD: Tel-Aviv University, 1986)

fisch@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Rivka Feldhay

Science and Religion in Early Modern Europe· (PhD: Hebrew University, 1986)

Prof. Gideon Freudenthal

Philosophy of Science· (PhD: Free University of Berlin, 1980)

freudenthal@tauex.tau.ac.il

Prof. Moshe Zuckermann

History and Philosophy of the Social Sciences; Aesthetic Theory (PhD: Tel-Aviv University, 1986)

mzucki@tauex.tau.ac.il

 

 

 


 

 

In memory of

Prof. Amos Funkenstein (1937-1995)

 

Prof. Yehuda Elkana (1934-2012)

 

 

Prof. Carlo Strenger (1958-2019)

 

 

 

 

Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>